Border Eco Spotlight
You are here: Home » Echoes » 4th Annual Public Safety Officer Awards

4th Annual Public Safety Officer Awards

The Rotary Club of Nogales hosted their 4th Annual Public Safety Officers Awards Dinner on Friday, June 9th, 2017 at the Quality Hotel Americana. The event recognized 15 public safety officers within Santa Cruz County for their service. Family, friends, and colleagues attended the event to show their support to the officers recognized for dedication and hard work in the public sector. The tables and room were decorated in patriotic colors.  

The event started with a welcome to attendees and their families from the keynote event chair Robert Astengo. In attendance were a variety of uniformed men and women representing public service agencies within the county.The ceremony included a musical performance by the Nogales High School Mariachi Apache and the singing of the national anthem by Cameron Jeong. Followed by a benediction from Deacon David Rojas. The event concluded with a dinner and award presentation. The awards were awarded by Abelardo Duran, President of the Rotary Club of Nogales and Ed Suckley, Past President. More than 50 prizes were given out to the attendees.

The 3 major sponsors of this event: Santa Cruz County Attorney Office, City of Nogales, Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Office. Several businesses across Santa Cruz County also helped to sponsor this event. The participating agencies included: U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Arizona Department of Transportation, U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency, the Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Office, Patagonia Town Marshal, Santa Cruz County Attorney’s Office, U.S. Border Patrol, Nogales Police Department, Nogales Fire Department, Arizona Department of Public Safety, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Tubac Fire District, Arizona Rangers, Coronado National Forest Nogales Ranger District, Arizona Game and Fish. Border Eco congratulates all the men and women honored for their public service. 






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top